If you use Google Trusted Contacts to stay track of friends and family, we’ve some bad news: Google on Friday announced the app is joining the company’s graveyard. It’s another service during a long list of services that have gone way timely .
Announced at the top of 2016, Trusted Contacts was a location sharing app that permit family and friends know you were safe. you’ll request someone’s location, which person could approve or deny your request. you’ll also see a person’s recent activity and device battery status.
Trusted Contacts later added features like customized timeouts and permanent location sharing following an invitation . The app also eventually allowed users to ascertain where someone was directly in Maps — and therein lies the rub. within the last several months, Google Maps has since added real-time Location Sharing, essentially making Trusted Contacts moot.
“As a result, the Trusted Contacts app are going to be faraway from the App Store and Play Store today, and can stop being supported after December 1, 2020,” Google said. “If the app is installed on your device, you’ll still use it until then.”
Users are going to be ready to download their trusted contacts until December 1. then , they’re going to be unable to ascertain the live location you’re sharing with them from the app.
If you would like to continue sharing your location with friends and family, you’ll do so in Google Maps. Even better, you’ll now utilize Live View with Location Sharing, making it easy to ascertain where someone is, including distance, in reference to you.